<u>i-GeoApproach</u> developed by NIC MP bags International Geospatial Excellence Award

The product *i*-GeoApproach (Internet Geomatics—based Application for Planning Rural Road Connectivity to Habitations (Under Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojna (PMGSY)) developed for M.P. Rural Road Development Authority and hosted on http://gismp.nic.in has bagged International Geospatial Excellence Award in "Governance" category. The award was presented by Hon'ble Chief Minister Gujarat Shri Narendra Modi on 18th Jan'11 during the 5 days International Geospatial World Forum Conference

Shri Narendra Modi on 18st Jan'11 during the 5 days International Geospatial World Forum Conference held in Hyderabad from 17-21 Jan'2011. There were 173 nominations globally. Conference is sponsored by Ministry of Communication & IT along with other Government Ministries/Departments. It was inaugurated by Hon'ble Minister **Shri Kapil Sibal** Ministry of S&T, MHRD & C&IT, Gol.



Shri Sanjay Dubey CEO MPRRDA & Shri Vivek Chitale Tech. Director & HOD Geomatics Div. NIC MP received the award. Receiving the International Geospatial Excellence Award from Hon'ble Chief Minister Gujarat Shri Narendra Modi Left:- Dr. Shailesh Nayak ,Secretary, Ministry of Earth Science, India

Right:- Dr. Vanessa Lawrence CB, Director General & Chief Executive Officer, Ordnance Survey, Great Britain

Category	Awardee
Agriculture	Cane Smile - Mitr Phol Sugar Group, Thailand (979) conf.
Business Intelligence	Ministry of Municipalities & Agriculture Affairs - Bahrain - 733 Conf.
Governance	NIC, MP - India - 1000 Conf.
Transport Management	Taipei City, Taiwan - China - 763 Conf.
Utility	Penang State Subterranean Data Bank - Malaysia - 784 Conf.
Mining & exploration	Anglo Platinum South Africa
Energy and Power Distribution	Spectra Energy, United States
Telecommunication	Bharati AirTel, India
Land and resources management	Taranaki Regional Council, New Zealand
Geospatial Policies & Programme	Abu Dhabi Systems & Information Centre (ADSIC, Abu Dhabi)

Reference: Geospatial World Forum Bulletin dated Tuesday, 19 January 2011



Awardees Photos

The *i-GeoApproach* project team members include Shri M. Vinayak Rao, SIO & Sr. Tech. Director and GIS Division Members; Smt. Geetanjali Mehta TD, Shri Dhrubajyoti Sarma, SA & Shri N Dhanasekhar, SA.